The struggle with oneself!

Sport has been defined by a UNESCO Committee as “Any physical activity which has the character of play and which involves a struggle with oneself or with others,or a confrontation with natural elements“.

Some people say that sport is war without bloodshed. It is much, much more than that. It is all about the war between the two opposing sides of human nature. One that thinks that there is nothing that can be improved and the other one that thinks that everything can be improved. The first kind of thinking leads to decay but the second kind of thinking leads to improvement.

Sport is all about Liberty, Equality, Fraternity and Human Rights!


Photo:Paragliding from http://www.freedigitalphotos.net

Sport is about competing with oneself to improve oneself. The confrontation with other competitors or with natural elements is purely coincidental. The kind of confrontation of a person with oneself is truly inspirational. The stories of sportsmen (and women) who have fought against all odds to perform on the field are truly exceptional. Sport is all about the triumph of courage and bravery. It is all about the triumph of truth over dangerous illusion.

I can identify with the struggle of any sportsman (or woman, for that matter). Sport is all about building character. If wealth is lost, nothing is lost; if health is lost, something is lost; if character is lost, everything is lost!

When I watch a goalkeeper make a terrific save, I can identify that with the struggle to save one’s conscience against evil thoughts.

When I watch a defender go all out to keep a forward out of the danger zone, I can identify that with the struggle to save one’s personal space against others.

When I watch a midfielder make a terrific pass, I can identify that with perfect teamwork for the larger cause.

When I watch a forward score an unbelievable goal, I can identify that with the satisfaction of having achieved what one wanted.

When I watch a referee make a bold decision, I can identify that with the struggle to remain strictly neutral despite the tremendous pressure from both sides.

When I watch a racer drive/ride around the same circuit lap after lap, I can identify that with the struggle to constantly better oneself with every attempt.

When I watch a rallyist and a co-rallyist work in perfect unison to drive through a demanding stage, I can identify that with the struggle to unite in thought to achieve a common goal.

When I watch a boxer fight another boxer, I can identify that with the struggle to defend oneself by being aggressive.

When I watch a chess player involved in a silent battle on the board, I can identify that with the struggle to prevent the mind from dying.

When I watch a sprinter run a short distance race, I can identify that with the struggle to extract every cubic millimetre of performance from his/her body.

When I watch a middle-distance runner run a race, I can identify that with the struggle to have the cake and eat it later.

When I watch a long-distance runner run a marathon, I can identify that with the struggle to preserve oneself for the moment to triumph at the end.

When I watch a runner pass the baton to another runner in a relay, I can identify that with the struggle to do one’s best and leave the rest to others.

When I watch a shooter or an archer in action, I can identify that with the struggle to be bang on target everytime one tries.

When I watch a swimmer in action, I can identify that with the struggle to swim against the tide.

When I watch a cyclist in action, I can identify that with the struggle to unite the actions of the heart and the body.

When I watch a fencer in action, I can identify that with the struggle to fight, not the opponent, but evil thoughts.

When I watch a skater in action, I can identify that with the struggle to maintain one’s balance without slipping and falling down.

When I watch a skier in action hurtling down a mountain, I can identify that with the struggle to maintain one’s cool despite being pushed down a slope.

When I watch a mountaineer in action, I can identify that with the struggle to fight all evil concepts and ideas despite the danger involved in such an activity.

When I watch a gymnast score a perfect ten, I can identify that with the struggle to perfect oneself by getting rid of all the demons within the mind and body, heart and soul.

I always admire sport. I always admire sportsmen (and women) for their performances on the field. I always think sport can save humankind from dangerous and evil things like war, oppression and disease. Why, during the peak of popularity for Brazilian soccer phenomenon Pele, the combatants in the Biafran war in Nigeria declared a two-day truce so they could watch him play. Two South American countries are believed to have stopped a war to watch football. Wars between the Greek city states are believed to have been stopped to hold the ancient Olympics. Even if all of them were temporary, they were fantastic achievements since war, hunger and disease are the greatest perils of our times.

Sport is about fair play. Sport is about team-work. Sport is about improving oneself. Sport is about building character. Sport is beautiful. Sport is bold. Sport is an art. Sport is a science. Sport is hot. Sport is cool. Sport is wonderful.

Sport is all about the triumph of oneself against oneself, not against others or against nature. Unlike other evil and dangerous concepts and ideas, sport is in perfect harmony with the mind and body, heart and soul.

Sport is in perfect harmony with the concepts of Liberty, Equality, Fraternity and Human Rights!

Those four are the greatest concepts in the Universe! Nothing, absolutely nothing else is above those four perfect ideas!

Long live Sport! Long live the concepts of Liberty, Equality, Fraternity and Human Rights! May every other concept that does not benefit all of humankind perish!

This entry was posted in athletics, disease, human rights, life, Olympics, random, sports, thoughts, war and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The struggle with oneself!

  1. leafless says:

    “Sport is in perfect harmony with the concepts of Liberty,Equality,Fraternity and Human Rights !”

    But some people are just more physically gifted than others and the “win it by all costs” is quite prevalent in sports. Sports also isolate people by gender. Women are hardly allowed to be play in men’s team; the reverse is also true. Sports are great, but not without the standard barriers of society.

  2. Shawn says:

    Raj, check this out! All about the struggle and the triumph!!!!

    Struggle and Triumph!

  3. Raj says:

    Leafless,

    Thanks for mentioning the negative side of sports.

    You are right, not all people have the same physical characteristics. But that is why there are so many different sports on our planet. We have plenty of sports to choose from.

    Women and men do compete on the same field, like in tennis, table tennis, badmiton, etc. Ofcourse, it would be unfair if men (who are generally physically stronger) are allowed to compete against women, but mixed teams are not a bad idea at all. They will help in bridging the gender divide.

    ———————-

    Shawn,

    You have got a fabulous site!

    I completely agree with you! The struggle is much, much more important than the triumph!

  4. rahul says:

    “Sport is in perfect harmony with the concepts of Liberty,Equality,Fraternity and Human Rights !”

    do you really think it is the case now, today, sports is about money, anabolic steroids, politics, winning at all costs by hook or crook.

  5. Raj says:

    Rahul,

    You always make me think harder. You are right, we have let unscrupulous elements ruin sports by diverting it from what is was meant for.

Leave a Reply

